Guide
Planning Permission for Solar Panels in Northern Ireland: The Rules and Every Conservation Area by Council
Do you need planning permission for solar panels in NI? The exact permitted development rules from the 2015 Order, what changes in a conservation area or on a listed building, why an AONB does not, fees, and where each of the 11 councils lists its conservation areas.

On 23 September 2026 I read Part 2 of the Planning (General Permitted Development) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015 line by line, then opened the conservation area page of each of Northern Ireland’s 11 councils to check it still loads. I did it because the earlier version of this page, like most solar planning guides for NI, repeated English rules. It gave a 9 square metre limit and a 4 metre height for ground-mounted panels. Those are not Northern Ireland’s figures. Here they are 14 square metres and 2 metres.
This version is built from the Order itself (legislation.gov.uk). Its solar rules have not been amended since 2015: the 2023 amendment changed the heat pump classes only, and the 2026 amendment added reverse vending machines. Below you will find the conditions word for word where it matters, the situations where you do need permission, the one that GB guides wrongly add (AONBs), and a link for every council so you can check your own street.
The short answer
Most NI houses can have solar panels fitted without a planning application. You need to apply if:
- Your home is a listed building, or the panels would sit within its curtilage.
- You are in a conservation area or World Heritage Site and the panels would go on a roof slope or wall that faces onto and is visible from a road.
- You live in a flat. The Order’s domestic rights apply to a “dwellinghouse”, which excludes flats.
- The installation breaks one of the size limits below.
Being in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty does not change any of this.
Rooftop panels: Class A
Class A covers “solar PV or solar thermal equipment on the roof of (a) a dwellinghouse; or (b) any building within the curtilage of a dwellinghouse”. So it also covers a garage or outbuilding in your garden. It is not permitted development if:
- it would protrude more than 20cm beyond the plane of a roof slope that faces onto and is visible from a road
- it would be higher than the highest part of a ridged roof, or more than 1.5 metres above the plane of a flat roof
- it is in a World Heritage Site or conservation area and the roof slope faces onto and is visible from a road, or any part fitted to a flat roof would be visible from a road
- it would extend beyond the edge of the existing roof
- it is within the curtilage of a listed building, unless listed building consent has already been granted
The 20cm limit is narrower than most guides say. The Order applies it to road-facing, visible slopes only. In practice a standard on-roof mounting sits well under 20cm anyway, so it rarely matters.
There are two conditions. The primary purpose must be to provide heat or energy for use within the curtilage of the house. And equipment that is no longer used must be removed “as soon as reasonably practicable”.
Panels on walls: Class B
Wall-mounted panels are less common, but Class B allows them on the house, on a building in the curtilage or on a garden wall. The limits:
- within 3 metres of the boundary and above 4 metres in height, they must not extend more than 20cm beyond the plane of the wall
- panels on a wall with a chimney must not go above the highest part of the roof
- in a conservation area or World Heritage Site, the wall must not face onto and be visible from a road
- the listed building exclusion applies
Ground-mounted panels: Class C
Class C covers “stand alone solar” in your garden. It is not permitted development if:
- there would be more than one stand-alone array
- the array would be bigger than 14 square metres
- it would be higher than 2 metres
- it would be nearer to a road that bounds the property than the part of the house nearest that road
- it is within the curtilage of a listed building
Fourteen square metres is about seven standard 400W-class panels, so roughly 2.8 to 3kW. Class C has no conservation area restriction, only the listed building one. For a bigger array in a field or paddock, you need an application; our ground-mounted solar guide and farm solar guide cover that.
AONBs: no extra restriction
Several guides say permitted development is restricted in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. That is the English position. In Northern Ireland, the Order defines “designated area” to include AONBs, but Part 2 never uses that term. The solar classes restrict conservation areas, World Heritage Sites and listed buildings, and nothing else.
So if you live in one of NI’s eight AONBs (Antrim Coast and Glens, Binevenagh, Causeway Coast, Lagan Valley, Mourne, Ring of Gullion, Sperrin, and Strangford and Lecale, per DAERA), your rooftop and garden solar rights are the same as anyone else’s. The one caveat applies everywhere: a council can remove permitted development rights in a specific place with an Article 4 direction. Belfast’s directions for Malone Park and Adelaide Park cover things like windows, doors and boundaries, not solar. If you are unsure, ask your council whether an Article 4 direction covers your street.
Listed buildings
If your home is listed, permitted development does not apply until listed building consent has been granted. Before anyone alters a listed building they must apply to the council, which consults the Historic Environment Division of the Department for Communities (nidirect). The controls apply equally to every grade: A, B+, B, B1 and B2 (DfC).
To check whether a building is listed, search the NI Buildings Database. Listed building consent carries no fee. Panels on a rear slope or an outbuilding, in a dark all-black finish, are the proposals most likely to be accepted, and pre-application advice from the council is worth asking for.
Conservation areas by council
The Department for Infrastructure keeps an A to Z of historic conservation area guides but tells readers to check with the council for current boundaries. Each council has held planning powers since 2015, so the council is the authority to ask. I checked every link below on 23 September 2026.
| Council | Where to check | Conservation areas (as the council states) |
|---|---|---|
| Antrim and Newtownabbey | Planning page (no dedicated list found) | Not stated; the DfI list includes Antrim town centre, Randalstown and Merville Garden Village |
| Ards and North Down | Conservation areas | Page names Donaghadee, Holywood and Portaferry |
| Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon | Conservation areas | 5: Armagh City, Dromore, Loughgall, Lurgan, Richhill |
| Belfast | Article 4 directions and conservation areas, plus the council’s interactive maps | 13, including Malone Park and Adelaide Park |
| Causeway Coast and Glens | Conservation areas | 5: Ballycastle, Ballymoney, Bushmills, Cushendall, Cushendun |
| Derry City and Strabane | Conservation areas | 5: Historic City, Clarendon Street, Magee, Sion Mills, Newtownstewart |
| Fermanagh and Omagh | Local development plan (no dedicated list found) | Not stated; the DfI list includes Enniskillen, Lisnaskea and Omagh |
| Lisburn and Castlereagh | Conservation areas | 3: Hillsborough, Lisburn, Moira |
| Mid and East Antrim | Conservation areas | 5: Carnlough, Carrickfergus, Glenarm, Gracehill, Whitehead |
| Mid Ulster | Planning information (no dedicated list found) | Not stated; the DfI list includes Dungannon, Moneymore, Moy and Caledon |
| Newry, Mourne and Down | Conservation areas | 10, including Ardglass, Castlewellan and Saintfield |
Three councils (Antrim and Newtownabbey, Fermanagh and Omagh, and Mid Ulster) did not have a page listing their conservation areas when I checked. For those, use the DfI list as a starting point and confirm with the council’s planning office. Ards and North Down’s page names three areas, and I could not confirm that it is the full set, so ask the council if your town is not one of them.
If you do need to apply
Fees (in force since 1 April 2025, Planning (Fees) Regulations):
| Application | Fee |
|---|---|
| Householder planning application | £347 per dwelling |
| Certificate of lawful development for a proposal | £173.50 (half the planning fee) |
| Listed building consent | No fee |
Time. The council has 8 weeks to decide a householder application before you can treat it as refused and appeal (General Development Procedure Order, article 20). The performance target for local applications is an average of 15 weeks. In 2025/26 the NI average was 19.6 weeks, and only 3 of the 11 councils met the target (DfI planning statistics, 26 August 2026). Plan for two to five months, not two.
The certificate route. If you are fairly sure the panels are permitted development but want it in writing (for a sale, a lender or a borderline road-facing slope), a certificate of lawful development for £173.50 is cheaper than a full application and settles the question.
What to submit. A householder application usually needs the form, a location plan, a site or roof plan showing the panels, elevations and photographs. A good installer will draw the roof layout for you, and many will prepare the application.
Planning is not the only paperwork
Two other steps apply whether or not you need planning permission:
- NIE Networks. Systems up to 16A per phase, about 3.68kW on a normal single-phase house, are notified under G98. Larger systems need G99 approval before connection. Your installer should do both. There is more in our G98 guide.
- Building regulations. The roof must carry the load and the electrical work must be certified. An MCS certified installer with registered electricians covers this as standard; ask for the certificates in the handover pack.
Northern Ireland is not the Republic
Search results often mix the two. The Republic of Ireland has its own planning exemptions under separate legislation, and they do not apply here. If a guide talks about “exempted development” or a national planning board, it is written for the Republic. In Northern Ireland the rules are the 2015 Order above and the decision sits with your council.
My advice
Ask your installer, at the survey, three questions: is the house listed, is it in a conservation area, and does the slope you want face a road? If the answer to all three is no and the panels stay below the ridge and inside the roof edge, you do not need to apply. If any answer is yes, check the council page above for your area before you sign anything. Fitting first and applying afterwards is the expensive way round. For the rest of the process from survey to switch-on, see the installation process guide.
Questions readers ask
Do I need planning permission for solar panels in Northern Ireland?
Not for most houses. Part 2, Class A of the Planning (General Permitted Development) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015 lets you fit solar panels to the roof of a house without applying, as long as they do not rise above the ridge, do not extend beyond the edge of the roof, and on a roof slope that faces and is visible from a road do not stick out more than 20cm. You need to apply if the house is listed, if you are in a conservation area or World Heritage Site and the panels would go on a road-facing slope, or if you live in a flat.
Do I need planning permission for solar panels in a conservation area in NI?
Only if the panels go on a roof slope or wall that faces onto and is visible from a road, or on a flat roof where any part would be visible from a road. Panels on a rear slope that cannot be seen from a road remain permitted development in a conservation area. Northern Ireland's 11 councils each keep their own list; the links are on this page.
Does an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty affect solar panel planning in Northern Ireland?
No. I checked the 2015 Order on 23 September 2026. The domestic solar classes restrict only conservation areas, World Heritage Sites and listed buildings. They do not mention AONBs, so living in the Mournes, the Sperrins or on the Causeway Coast does not remove your permitted development rights for rooftop or ground-mounted solar. Guidance written for England often says otherwise.
Can I put solar panels on a listed building in Northern Ireland?
Possibly, but not without consent. Permitted development does not apply within the curtilage of a listed building unless listed building consent has already been granted. You apply to your council, which consults the Historic Environment Division of the Department for Communities. Listed building consent has no fee. The rules apply to every grade: A, B+, B, B1 and B2.
Do ground-mounted solar panels need planning permission in NI?
Not if you meet Class C of the 2015 Order: one stand-alone array per house, no bigger than 14 square metres, no higher than 2 metres, not nearer to a road than the nearest part of the house, and not within the curtilage of a listed building. Anything larger needs an application. Some guides quote 9 square metres and 4 metres; those are not the Northern Ireland figures.
How much does a planning application for solar panels cost in Northern Ireland?
A householder application costs £347 per dwelling, the fee in force since 1 April 2025. A certificate of lawful development, which confirms that a proposal does not need permission, costs half that: £173.50. Listed building consent is free. Councils have 8 weeks to decide a householder application, although the 2025/26 average for local applications was 19.6 weeks.
Do I need my neighbour's permission for solar panels in Northern Ireland?
No. Panels fitted under permitted development need no neighbour consent. If you do need to apply, your council notifies neighbours and they can comment, but they cannot veto the decision.
Do I need to tell NIE Networks about solar panels?
Yes, and that is separate from planning. Systems up to 16A per phase (about 3.68kW on a single-phase supply) are notified to NIE Networks under G98. Larger systems need G99 approval before they are connected. Your installer should handle both.
Your next step
See what your options cost.
Request quotes from participating Northern Ireland installers. Compare the equipment, installation and aftercare. You decide whether to proceed.



